Medina Honors Patrick Lavin as Veteran of the Year

Wednesday, June 21, 2017

SACRAMENTO – Assemblymember Jose Medina (D-Riverside) honored Mr. Patrick Lavin, a Vietnam-era veteran of the United States Marine Corps, as the 2017 Veteran of the Year for the 61st Assembly District.

“We are fortunate to have a Marine like Pat Lavin living in the 61st Assembly District,” said Assemblymember Medina. “Pat served his country honorably and continues to dedicate his time and considerable expertise to our community in many ways. I am proud to honor him as Veteran of the Year for our District.”

Mr. Lavin enlisted in the United States Marine Corps in 1969, spending three years on active duty as a Fleet Marine assigned to the U.S. Navy’s 7th Fleet in the Pacific. A proud Noncommissioned Officer of the Marines, Corporal Lavin earned the Good Conduct Medal and the National Defense Service Medal during his time on active duty.

Mr. Lavin has been a Journeyman Lineman by trade for 43 years, and is currently the Chairman/Treasurer of the Coalition of California Utility Employees, a Board member of California Unions for Reliable Energy, and a Board of Directors member of the California Foundation on the Environment and the Economy. He has been elected to 7 terms as Business Manager and Financial Secretary of the IBEW Local #47 and is serving in his 5th term as the IBEW 7th District International Executive Council member.

Mr. Lavin also supports numerous veterans’ service organizations and charities. He and his wife, Ellen, have been married for 42 years and have 3 daughters, 2 sons, and 11 grandchildren.

Each year, the California State Assembly honors veterans who have distinguished military careers and have significantly contributed to their communities.

Assemblymember Medina proudly represents California’s 61st Assembly District, which consists of Riverside, Moreno Valley, and Perris.



In photo (L to R): LTC (US Army, Ret.) Pete Conaty, Assemblymember Jose Medina, Veteran of the Year Mr. Patrick Lavin, and Darin Selnick, Senior Advisor to the Secretary, US Department of Veterans Affairs.